Work in Progress – Wild West

Image

I am currently working on a manga-inspired project featuring a cute cowgirl out in the Wild West. This is it so far, but I have a lot of work to do on the colouring still.

I thought some of you may be interested in how I work, so this is a special work in progress post. See more work in progress, sketches and explanations after the jump.

First of all I like to get out with a camera or look in books for reference images. If I don’t have these to hand or there is a time limit on the project I browse images sites like deviantART and iStock to look at stock photos related to my theme.

Screen-Shot-2013-04-28-at-10.57.01

photo-2

Above: stock photos from deviantART and my long suffering sister, who often poses for my work.

I draw the girl and background separately and scan both into photoshop before playing around with compositions. I introduced a horse at one stage but decided it wasn’t really working for me.

ImageImage

Image

After deciding on a composition I refined the sketch, including redrawing the hands.

madeleine-allcock-wild-3

Next comes the line art. As you can see I am still editing the sketch even at this point, for example I redrew the girl’s face to make her cuter and more of a heroine.

Image

Next I coloured the image in grey, this is to help me choose colour values and make sure the image has contrast.

Image

After choosing flat colours I start to shade various elements.

Image

Please check back soon for more progress shots and the final image.

About Madeleine

Illustrator and Graphic Designer
This entry was posted in Illustration, Sketches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

